Windows 11 will show which apps have access to the camera and microphone

Windows 11 will show which apps have access to the camera and microphone

Windows 11 will show which apps have access to the camera and microphone

The new tool lists the programs that requested sensitive data and peripherals. (Photo: Reproduction)

In times of spying and malware attacks, Windows 11 will have another feature for those who care about privacy. The system will show which apps have accessed sensitive data and devices. For example, using a camera, microphone or contact list will make it possible to know the last program.

This feature was added to one of the preview builds of Windows 11 and made available to members of the Windows Insiders Program Developer Channel.

With it, you can learn more about contacts, location, calls, messages, screenshots, microphone and camera requests.

There are some limitations. You can find out which apps accessed this information and when was the last time. For example, there is no information about how many times they entered it or at what time.

The privacy and security and app permissions contain information in the Settings app. There, the Recent Actions drop-down menu displays the last hit for each piece of information.

Security News – There is no word yet on when this feature will be available to all users, and Microsoft has not officially released the news. Even so, owning one is still beyond the reach of the average person.

David Weston, vice president of enterprise and operating system security at Microsoft, tweeted about the privacy tool.

This is not Microsoft’s only innovation for system security. In April, Microsoft Defender announced improvements to the SmartScreen phishing protection.

Another upcoming feature is personal data encryption, which secures user data and files – authentication with Windows Hello is the only way to access them.

WhatsApp update

WhatsApp now allows you to hide the “profile picture”, “last seen”, “message” and “status” options for specific contacts in the phonebook. The update, which has been in beta testing since the beginning of the year, was officially announced this week and expanded the range of privacy in Messenger.

This is because until then, there were only three privacy options: “Everyone”, “My Contacts” or “None”. With the update came the “Exclude My Contacts” option, which guarantees users more autonomy. It is worth noting that the function is available for iPhone (iOS) and Android.

To try the novelty, just log in to the app and tap on the three dots available at the top right of the screen. Then, just select Settings> Accounts> Privacy section and choose which features you want to customize.

If you have not yet seen the option on your smartphone, you should access the Google Play Store on Android devices or the App Store on iOS devices and it is recommended to update the app to the latest version.