How To Remove Someone From Best Friends On Snapchat

You might need to know how to remove someone from your list of best friends if you use Snapchat frequently. The software determines who you talk to and snap with the most before labelling them as your best buddy. However, there are instances when circumstances change, friends separate, and you may want to remove that individual from your page. This post will explain how to delete someone from your list of best friends on Snapchat if you want to switch up your besties.

Remove Someone From Best Friends by Deleting Them

The first option is probably the simplest if you want to delete a contact completely from your list of friends. Here’s how it’s done:

1. Open your app and go to the Chat function in the bottom left corner of the screen. This will take you to your contact list.

2. Choose the friend you want to remove by clicking on their Bitmoji Profile Icon, which will take you to your friend’s profile.

3. At the top right corner, there will be three little dots, a horizontal ellipsis. Click on them to see the options to block or delete to contact.

Removing a friend is a temporary option that will still allow them to message you. Note that if you change your mind, you will be able to add them back at a later date. However, blocking a friend is more permanent. When choosing this option, you’ll not only remove them from your list of friends but remove yourself from theirs. They won’t be able to see your Snap score again.

Remove Someone From Best Friends by Replacing Them

This option might also take a bit more time, but it will still work. Start by sending fewer snaps to whomever you want to be removed from your best friends list while sending more to other friends will do the trick. Simply put, interacting more with other people will prompt the algorithm to change the status of your contacts.

You can also restrict the interactions with your unwanted best friend by muting their stories, messages, and notifications. All you have to do is follow these steps:

1. Go back to the Chat menu at the bottom corner of your screen.

2. Click the Bitmoji of the friend you want to be removed, and find the horizontal ellipsis in the top right corner.

3. Below the Block and Remove options, you’ll find the Mute Game and Mini Notifications and Mute Story buttons. These will help you to avoid interaction, speeding up the process.

How to Remove Someone From Best Friends on Snapchat Without Deleting Them

Remove Someone From Best Friends by Tricking the Algorithm

If you’re looking for a less dramatic way to remove someone from your best friends list, this method might work better for you.

At the beginning of this article, you read about how Snapchat’s algorithm works. A simple solution to this problem is to lower your interaction with the person in question. By sending fewer snaps and messages, the algorithm will start tracking the change, altering the status of your best friend over time. You might have to wait between 10 to 15 days for this to happen, but you’ll no doubt agree that it’s a much subtler way of going about things.

However, do note that the time period can vary based on how many contacts you have and how often you interact with them.

Hiding Best Friends on Snapchat

Don’t worry; no one but you can see your Snapchat best friends. However, they are displayed on your screen. If you don’t want to see them, or you don’t want someone else to see them, you can easily hide them from view.

You can’t hide who your best friends are on the Send to screen, but you can hide them on the Chat screen. Here’s how:

By Changing the Related Emoji

If you’re an Android user, follow these steps:

1. Open your profile by clicking on your Bitmoji icon in the top-left corner, then tap the cog icon in the top right, which will open your Settings.

2. By scrolling down, you should see the option labeled Customize emojis. This option will show you which emojis label your friends as Super BFFBFFBestieClose friendGood friend, and similar.

3. From there, tap on the emoji you want to change, and then pick another one to replace it. It can be any emoji you want, as long as it’s not the one already chosen for another field.

If you are an IOS user, follow these steps:

1. Open your profile and find the cog icon.

2. Find the option Manage and tap the Friend emojis bar.

3. Repeat the process the same way as previously explained. If you want to, you can easily switch back to the old default later by clicking the Reset to default button.

Changing your Number of Bestfriends on Snapchat

Did you know that you can pick the number of best friends you have on Snapchat? Whether you want to limit it to one or expand it to eight (which is the maximum number Snapchat currently allows), you can quickly change this from the default (three Snapchat best friends) with a few clicks!

Follow the next steps to find out how:

1. Open Settings and scroll to the Manage option.

2. Select the # of Best Friends.

3. Edit the number to your liking.

It’s best not to worry about your Snapchat best friends. Just because you’re not interacting with someone on the app as much as you are in real life doesn’t mean you’re not good friends still. This platform is supposed to be fun and interactive, so keep that in mind.

Have you ever removed someone from your best friend list on Snapchat? Did you use any of the methods featured in this article? Let us know in the comments section down below.

How to Remove a Friend on Snapchat

When you remove a friend from your friends list, they won’t be able to view any of your private Stories or Charms, but they’ll still be able to view any content you have set to public. Depending on your privacy settings, they may also still be able to Chat or Snap you!

To remove a friend from your friends list…

  1. Swipe right to go to the Chat screen
  2. Tap and hold on a friend’s name
  3. Tap ‘Manage Friendship
  4. Tap ‘Remove Friend

Or…

  1. Swipe right to go to the Chat screen
  2. Tap on a friend’s profile icon to open their Profile
  3. Tap the  at the top, then tap ‘Manage Friendship
  4. Tap ‘Remove Friend

Please Note: removing, blocking, or muting a friend should remove them from the Stories screen

How to Block a Friend on Snapchat

When you block a friend, they won’t be able to view your Story or Charms, or send you Snaps or Chats.

To block a friend…

  1. Swipe right to go to the Chat screen
  2. Tap and hold on a friend’s name
  3. Tap ‘Manage Friendship
  4. Tap ‘Block

Or…

  1. Swipe right to go to the Chat screen
  2. Tap on a Chat with that friend 💬
  3. Tap their profile icon at the top
  4. Tap the  at the top, then tap ‘Manage Friendship
  5. Tap ‘Block

How to View and Share a Friend’s Snapcode

To view and send an existing friend’s Snapcode…

  1. Swipe right to the Chat screen
  2. Press and hold on a friend’s name
  3. Tap ‘More
  4. Tap ‘Share Snapcode

There are also options to send that friend’s username to your other friends, or share a special URL that links to that friend’s My Profile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *